Our History

Tasmanian Audit Office 1919


Van Diemen’s Land, until 1824, was merely a dependency of New South Wales controlled by a small number of officials responsible to their senior counterparts in Sydney.

The advent of Colonel Arthur as Lieutenant-Governor in 1824 foreshadowed the granting of independence. Arthur, apparently perturbed at the malpractices rife in the colony and aware that the duties of Auditor had been previously attached to the Accounts Branch of the Commissariat Department in Sydney, acted on his own initiative to create the additional office of Auditor of Civil Accounts on 25 November 1826. This was in effect, the first Auditor‑General of Tasmania.

G T W B Boyes served as the first Auditor-General from 1826-1853.  The title was originally Civil Auditor (1826-1853), then Colonial Auditor (1853-1887), and to Auditor-General from 1888.

Since the appointment of G T W B Boyes, there have been 18 Auditors-General serving Tasmania and reporting to Parliament.

The Tasmanian Audit Office now performs over 110 audits of State public sector agencies, local governments, statutory authorities, government business enterprises and state-owned corporations.


Tasmanian Auditor-Generals since 1826

Name Term
G T W B Boyes (Civil Auditor) 1826 – 1853
Edward Johnstone Manley (Colonial Auditor) 1853 – 1873
William Lovett (Colonial Auditor and Auditor-General) 1873 – 1894
John William Israel (Auditor-General) 1895 – 1901
Charles Mitchell (Auditor-General) 1901 – 1910
James Ernest Bennison (Auditor- General) 1910 – 1917
Ernest Henry Pretyman (Auditor-General) 1917 – 1937
Frederick John Batt (Auditor-General) 1937 – 1947
Arthur Templeman (Auditor-General) 1947 – 1951
Harold E Roberts (Auditor-General) 1951 – 1959
Walter Oswald Jennings (Auditor-General) 1959 – 1960
Noel Edwin Casey (Auditor-General) 1960 – 1977
John G Lennox (Auditor-General) 1977 – 1979
James Michael Nichols (Auditor-General) 1979 – 1984
David Ewan Kirby (Auditor-General) 1984 – 1991
Dr Arthur McHugh (Auditor-General) 1991 – 2003
Howard Michael Blake (Auditor-General) 2004 – 2016
Rod Whitehead (Auditor-General) 2016 to present


Independence – A Foundation of Accountability – A History of the Tasmanian Audit Office (ISBN: 0-9756781-9-1) by Lindy Scripps.

(Copies of this publication may be found under Libraries Tasmania holdings)